Training at Yodyut Muay Thai Gym, Koh Samui

Yodyut Muay Thai

I am now one week into my Muay Thai holiday and all I can say is “Wow. Where has the time gone already?”  I’ve had a really great week so far despite my right calf/achilles causing me problems.  I am training twice a day, mixing things up and have been able to lift more weights in one week here than I have managed in six months back home. That was one of my goals for this trip, to start lifting regularly and make sure that I allocate time in my training schedule to continue when I get back to London.

Today I went to visit Yodyut gym with Ben, a friend of mine from my gym back home who is also on a training holiday.  I have wanted to train at Yodyut for a while as a few friends back home have mentioned it’s a great gym. I was a little gutted that I recently missed one of my favourite fighters Joanne Calderwood (UFC) having her training camp there.  We arrived for the afternoon class, and actually got there quite early as I had miscalculated how long it would take to get there but it was all good.  One of the trainers at Yodyut is someone I have trained with at Sinbi a few years ago so it was great to see a familiar face.  He is still full of cheeky tricks and will push you hard but is also fun to train with.

One of the biggest differences between Superpro and Yodyut is the ratio of the people who train there.  Superpro is about 90% non Thai (a lot of Westerners) and 10% Thai. Yodyut is the opposite, we were in the minority and were made to feel very welcome by the friendly trainers and fighters.  The training structure of Yodyut is similar to the other gyms. It is broken down as:

  • 10 mins warm up of running or skipping
  • Warm up stretching
  • 2 rounds of shadow boxing. The trainers will come round and help you and correct your technique if needed
  • 4 rounds of pad work
  • 4 rounds of bag work
  • 4 rounds of sparring. We sparred with the trainers and swapped every round.  I really love the Thai way of sparring, it is playful and technique focused. It’s not about smashing the crap out of your partner which some people have a tendency to do back home.  If you are one of those people that likes to pretend you’re fighting and you want to smash everyone up then at least ask your partner before you spar if it’s okay to go hard. More often than not people will say no. It’s sparring, not fighting and no one wants to pick up an injury from someone who thinks they’re the next Buakaw.  You need to respect your training partners, not try to break them
  • Technique drills (such as walking knees and walking push kicks)
  • Bag work drills, which included one of my favourites where you have two to a bag and take it in turn to do round kicks
  • Conditioning
  • Cool down

Before we knew it the class had finished and I had the biggest smile on my face whilst also being a sweaty, soggy mess. I will definitely head back to Yodyut a couple more times before I leave for Phuket and head to Sinbi, my regular camp.  Tomorrow I am off on a little road trip to the other side of Koh Samui where I will spend two days at another camp called Taling Ngam on the recommendation of one of my Muay Thai coaches.  I’m looking forward to it and that will definitely be my next blog if I am not too broken!  You can find out more about Yodyut gym by checking out their website.

Thanks for reading and I’ll keep you posted on my Muay Thai journey. 🙂

Leave a Reply

